I did it! I finished the race!

So today was the event! Fight For Air Climb (formerly Climb California), 52 floors, 104 flights of stairs, 1,197 steps to the top of the B. of A. building.  I met the girls at the Montgomery Bart station around 10am and we walked up to the event.  Our wave time was 10:45, so we had to line up at 10:30.

The group warm up was chaotic – the music was too loud and I could barely hear the lead trainer.  So I ended up doing my own warm ups.  At that point, I started psyching myself out the closer it got for us to get to the “starting line”.  Earlier in the morning I drank a ton of water because I didn’t want to be dehydrated on this climb.  (That would suck having leg cramps on floor 20!!)  Anyways, with all the water I drank (and of course my Greenberry Shakeology with orange juice, blended with peaches) I had to pee!  Well, I felt like I had to – but I decided that it was nerves.  I was nervous because this was a big deal. No it wasn’t a marathon, I wasn’t running 26 miles.  I was only climbing 52 floors, 104 flights and 1,197 steps in a stairwell (that by the way got stinky the closer you got to the top).  But still, I was nervous.

Anyways, at the starting line at 10:45, we had to wait a couple of minutes for the group ahead of us to clear out.  Finally – we were let loose!  We only stayed together as a group for the first couple of flights, but R. took off.  She’s been training for a fitness body building competition, so I knew she would kick my ass in the stair climb.  After the first rest station, T. took off while I kept my pace and C. was close behind.

When I hit floor 10, I thought, what the hell.  I could be at home, sitting on the couch watching tv, or out for a walk along the Embarcadero.  Why the hell did I do this again?   What is wrong with me?  And where the hell are those cute fire fighters/paramedics at anyway??? HELLO! I may need some help here in a few! =)

Somewhere in the middle, (I can’t remember which floor) I decided to pick up my pace.  Well, ok, I tried to pick up my pace.  It helped listening to music while doing the climb.  Though, maybe next time I wont have songs with a fast beat?  (Try keeping step to the beat, while climbing stairs…)  I had to slow down because it felt like my lungs were going to explode.  I just kept telling myself, you’re getting closer to 52.  You’re getting closer to 52!

At one point, I got stuck behind a group of guys who were blocking my way.  After climbing that high, people tend to get a little ripe.  Yes, the guys were ripe and I was stuck behind them.  Thankfully, there was a rest station and I was able to get away from them.  Otherwise, I probably would have thrown in the white flag and asked to take the elevator the rest of the way.

Because I wanted to beat my time from last year (25:26), I didn’t stop at every rest station.  Which, I probably should have.  Other than the heavy breathing, I felt ok until about floor 48.  My right shoulder-blade started cramping up, which I thought was weird, considering I thought my leg would be the one to cramp up. So, I kept my right arm at my side the rest of the climb.  I thought – great, so close to the end and I go down from a shoulder-blade cramp!  (And where the hell were those cute fire fighters/paramedics???!)

Finally, when I saw the sign for the 51st floor – I got my second wind.  I wanted to sprint up those steps, but got stopped because there was a professional photographer taking everyone’s pictures at the top.   Great – after climbing 52 floors, 104 flights, 1,197 steps, one doesn’t exactly look fresh.  I’m sure I looked like a hot mess!  But it’s proof that I did it! I finished the Fight For Air vertical race – and I did it with some great ladies! Thank you C., T., and R.  You ladies rock and I’m so glad that we were a team!  So, who wants to do it again next year?  East Bay Fit Club is accepting new members.  =)

Published in: on March 27, 2010 at 8:29 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thefirst15lbs.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/i-did-it-i-finished-the-race/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Even though you have to “fight for air” after the climb, at least you did not need the assistance of those “cute” paramedics. Congratulations.

    • You’re right there, but is it cheating to use an inhaler prior to the race? ha ha (hey – maybe if you’re in San Fran next year same time during the race, you could join the team. We’re pinay – with the exception of 1)

      • Speaking of inhaler- my team’s name here in Iowa is Broncho’die’lators.


Leave a Reply

