Emotional Eating

So today I attended a memorial service for a great friend.  He passed away from pancreatic cancer a couple of weeks ago.  It was an emotional roller coaster sitting through the service.  At times there were funny stories and then there were the ones that felt like your heart just got ripped out of your chest.  P. was a great man and I am lucky to have been part of his circle of friends.  He was – is – like family.

At the reception, they had all of his favorite foods laid out and I had to hit all of them, including the dessert table.  I could not pass up having ice cream and tossing in a chocolate chip cookie.  After all, I thought, P. would have approved. (He LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Fentons in Oakland.  HELLO – the black & tan is to die for!)

After about an hour – I really could feel the food just sitting in my stomach.  I felt awful.  Why the hell did I do that to myself?!?!?!?!  After all this hard work and I just go and pig out like that? WTH!

I have noticed that when I get stressed, I tend to eat and I hit those comfort foods.  I really need to learn how to NOT do that.  I don’t ever want to cut anything out of my diet – because if I did – I’d do nothing but think about that particular food all the time.  I’d obsess over it.

So, tomorrow I start over with healthy eating.  I’m sure I’ve gained a couple of pounds, we shall see by end of next week how I do on the scale.  (Tho – on a good note, my jeans are still falling off my ass!!!)

Published in: on March 14, 2010 at 10:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thefirst15lbs.wordpress.com/2010/03/14/emotional-eating/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

